Nick:  
Pass:     
Help Register

Feedback/Modification Construction Mechanic - Stairs and climbing
UfoL Offline
Realm Conqueror

Construction Mechanic - Stairs and climbing
Just a simple change here. Since i started playing one thing was bugging me. Stair and climbing mechanics. Now creatures climb up, but there is still issue with stairs - they are actually almmost useless, and there is rarely need to build them (except as decoration).

I think that they could be modified to present real logistic improvement to the dungeon. Creatures now climb blocks quite fast - i think that they could climb up a bit slower over an obstacle almost two times higher than them (ladders climb speed should remain as it is). In return however, building stairs would let creatures reach different heights at the same pace as if it was on the same level - just walk on them, without slowing down to climb. A the same time it would be nice to see creatures actually walk ON the stars, not just walking straight trough them, and then climb up the wall behind stairs as it is now.
Once stairs would function as i described it could make important difference for pathfinding, where the shortest way is not always the fastest one. Also during battles some injuried creatures will have to choose if the want to run away slowly climbing or try to reach stairs and dont loose precious distance between chasing opponent. Some fast creatures would benefit greatly when there is no stairs around and be able to perform hit 'n run tactics, slow ones (knights/piggehs etc) would prefer routes with stairs/slopes, thus making stairs some kind of chokepoints woth placing traps and defences nearby.

If above would be considered worth implementing, then i think it would make sense to add one thing to level generator. Slopes - it would be actually the same as stairs, but generated on unclaimed land and with more "earthy" look. Once tile is claimed it becomes regular playerowned stairs.