Nick:  
Pass:     
Help Register


Post Reply 
Feedback/Modification Creature Mechanic - Selecting creatures when trying to dig
Author Message
Rasmus Offline
Main developer of Dwelvers
Dwelvers Developers

Posts: 3.619
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 502
Post: #16
RE: Creature Mechanic - Selecting creatures when trying to dig
(27-08-2015 02:26 AM)Xaos Wrote:  I have to agree that this is very annoying.

Could you not set 'Select' and 'Dig' as options on the right click radial menu? So that what you choose from the radial menu determines what mode you are in for left clicking?


I just need to confirm with you before answering Smile Do you think it is annoying with the accidentally creature clicking when digging or with the space option to ignore the creature clicking?

You don't like the space option for this, and would rather have an option in the radial menu?
27-08-2015 11:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Xaos Offline
Digger of the depths

Posts: 92
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 8
Post: #17
RE: Creature Mechanic - Selecting creatures when trying to dig
(27-08-2015 11:31 PM)Rasmus Wrote:  
(27-08-2015 02:26 AM)Xaos Wrote:  I have to agree that this is very annoying.

Could you not set 'Select' and 'Dig' as options on the right click radial menu? So that what you choose from the radial menu determines what mode you are in for left clicking?


I just need to confirm with you before answering Smile Do you think it is annoying with the accidentally creature clicking when digging or with the space option to ignore the creature clicking?

You don't like the space option for this, and would rather have an option in the radial menu?
Sorry for the delay in response. I was out of town for a few days.

The space option would be much better if it was reversed. i.e. the ideal default condition is NOT to select creatures, but have them selected by holding space. I very rarely need to select creatures as they are pretty self sufficient within their constraints. They mostly equip themselves and I haven't really noticed any change in their behavior by changing their task priorities.
31-08-2015 01:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mello Tonin Offline
Guru O' Mello

Posts: 2.216
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 176
Post: #18
RE:
(31-08-2015 01:24 PM)Xaos Wrote:  The space option would be much better if it was reversed. i.e. the ideal default condition is NOT to select creatures, but have them selected by holding space. I very rarely need to select creatures as they are pretty self sufficient within their constraints...

This would also fix the problem of building where you select an area, and when you release the mouse button to set the area, the creature under the pointer gets selected arbitrarily.
31-08-2015 04:30 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rasmus Offline
Main developer of Dwelvers
Dwelvers Developers

Posts: 3.619
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 502
Post: #19
RE:
This is a good idea. But how would you suggest I go about explaining for new players that they need to hold down space to select creatures. This is not anything they will notice themselves. I remembered when we had the shovel / pickaxe option with space. There was a huge amount of players not knowing that space could be used for this.

What I am saying is that if I reverse it I need to have a way to tell the players in a discreet but informative way that this is an option.
02-09-2015 03:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Xaos Offline
Digger of the depths

Posts: 92
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 8
Post: #20
RE:
It is my humble opinion, still, that these functions would best be toggled from the right-click radial menu. This menu could be set up as a 'cursor mode' menu.
i.e.:
dig
build block
select creature
claim land
reinforce wall
sell
repair
rotate
Info (room)
... and maybe an option for a user defined command. stuff like build road, bridge etc. like a custom mouse hotkey.

There are things on the menu that I don't think are used often enough to justify them on this menu, things like fetching water/lava, setting up room chains. Maybe others use these a heck of a lot more often than I...
03-09-2015 01:00 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rasmus Offline
Main developer of Dwelvers
Dwelvers Developers

Posts: 3.619
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 502
Post: #21
RE:
The problem is that I don't want the mouse radial menu to be to large on opening, if we get more than 8 icons in the first menu it will become very messy, and I think there are some other icons like "room buildings" that you have missed.

What I am thinking about being the problem here is what is the default action. The default action is always "dig" if nothing else gets in the way. Perhaps just using space to toggle between pickaxe and selecting creatures as it was with the pickaxe and the shovel earlier?
05-09-2015 03:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mello Tonin Offline
Guru O' Mello

Posts: 2.216
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 176
Post: #22
RE:
I wouldn't mind a toggle like we had with the shovel and pickaxe. It would still be the same though without a tutorial for new players, they will be lost until they ask on the forums.
05-09-2015 03:57 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
CCXI Offline
Dungeon Lord

Posts: 31
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 2
Post: #23
RE:
Just a thought. How about no clicking minions at all? Control them by Flags only. And to see their stats, equip them etc, leave as is, we gotta look through the minions screen like when we manually equip them.
And the box-drag select which allows you to tell minions where to go, is that a dev tool or game feature? Dont think it's needed.
06-09-2015 03:35 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)


© 2013-2017 Dwelvers | Contact