Nick:  
Pass:     
Help Register


Post Reply 
Solved & Confirmed 0.6c - Can't Get Wood
Author Message
Mello Tonin Offline
Guru O' Mello

Posts: 2.216
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 176
Post: #1
0.6c - Can't Get Wood
I've been suspecting this was a problem, but this is the first I'm really looking into it. What is happening is that wood I harvest is going missing. If I have a job which requires wood, then the wood is delivered to the site and used, otherwise it just disappears.

In the save game I'm linking here, you can try going and digging out some wood and watch as it never ends up in the storeroom. Before posting I made sure that there were no other items waiting to be stored before digging out on tile with wood. I then turned up the speed and waited 5 minutes to see if the wood was ever delivered. It was not, and the only jobs I still had active involved producing food and beer.

My save is hosted from a public share on my Google drive. I'm pretty sure I got the permissions right so you don't need to log into a Google account to access it. If not let me know.

Save Game: Named Can'tGetWood.zip
(This post was last modified: 01-05-2015 04:19 PM by Sebt.)
11-01-2014 08:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mello Tonin Offline
Guru O' Mello

Posts: 2.216
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 176
Post: #2
RE: Can't Get Wood
Ok, so I see now what is happening. I didn't realize that when you make bread, this requires wood. Since wood is no longer perpetual as in previous versions, I see this being a real problem especially when other items in the production chain start requiring wood as well.

We really need a way to be able to continuously get wood like before, or have more of it. Either way, making bread can definitely keep you from having the wood you need to build other more important things.
12-01-2014 05:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Seriously Unserious Offline
The Ninja Dinosaur

Posts: 1.607
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 69
Post: #3
RE: Can't Get Wood
Plus, if you run out of wood, that bread can become critically important too. Especially if other creature ideas are implemented that would make fishing much more hazardous. So I guess this would sound more like a game modification suggestion brewing then...
[Image: 11619898803_7d3a89e6bd_n.jpg]
The Golden One!
12-01-2014 09:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mello Tonin Offline
Guru O' Mello

Posts: 2.216
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 176
Post: #4
RE: Can't Get Wood
Yeah it looks like it has become that, but I don't have the authority to move it. We lost a star too, you see? Anyways, it started out looking like an issue so that's why it ended up here, and technically if you haven't built any bridges in order to get fish, have no wood, and your creatures start dropping like flies, then I would say that's an issue. I would however suggest we do something about the wood situation...lol.
13-01-2014 03:01 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Seriously Unserious Offline
The Ninja Dinosaur

Posts: 1.607
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 69
Post: #5
RE: Can't Get Wood
Ah, but you could always post a suggestion in a new thread in the Ideas and Suggestions forum, using Suggestion Templates. Wink
[Image: 11619898803_7d3a89e6bd_n.jpg]
The Golden One!
(This post was last modified: 14-02-2014 05:24 PM by Sebt.)
13-01-2014 03:53 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mello Tonin Offline
Guru O' Mello

Posts: 2.216
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 176
Post: #6
RE: Can't Get Wood
Ah, look at you being cheeky. I give you +1 for suggesting I suggest my suggestion while being sure to iterate the usage of Stylish Suggestion Templates.
(This post was last modified: 14-02-2014 05:24 PM by Sebt.)
13-01-2014 04:28 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Seriously Unserious Offline
The Ninja Dinosaur

Posts: 1.607
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 69
Post: #7
RE: Can't Get Wood
HAHAHAHA! Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue
[Image: 11619898803_7d3a89e6bd_n.jpg]
The Golden One!
13-01-2014 04:47 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rasmus Offline
Main developer of Dwelvers
Dwelvers Developers

Posts: 3.619
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 502
Post: #8
RE: Can't Get Wood
Hmm, this isn't a bug as you figured out Tongue
Yeah, the wood need to grow as the previous versions, I don't know how fond I am of having the baking table using up the wood. It is used up very slowly though. You can produce 3 breads / 1 wood, and every root you cut down you get 3 wood. So for every root you can get 9 breads in total. Another thing that will be added as well is that when the surface world becomes available we will have a lot of trees to cut down as well. So I don't think there will be a shortage, maybe the issue is that the player have no control over the baking table and that the bread just comes spewing out. Maybe I need to put a limit on the bakery so that it stops baking if the player already own X amounts of bread.
13-01-2014 05:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mello Tonin Offline
Guru O' Mello

Posts: 2.216
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 176
Post: #9
RE: Can't Get Wood
Yeah, I plan on later this afternoon/evening making a suggestion to combat the need for wood, and we'll see where that goes and what everyone thinks about it.
13-01-2014 05:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Seriously Unserious Offline
The Ninja Dinosaur

Posts: 1.607
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 69
Post: #10
RE: Can't Get Wood
I agree, there needs to be at least some control over automated tasks like baking bread, especially those that consume resources and produce products that take up storage space.
[Image: 11619898803_7d3a89e6bd_n.jpg]
The Golden One!
14-01-2014 02:41 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
damiant Offline
Dungeon Lord

Posts: 43
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 11
Post: #11
RE: Can't Get Wood
(13-01-2014 05:03 PM)Rasmus Wrote:  Maybe I need to put a limit on the bakery so that it stops baking if the player already own X amounts of bread.

If I showed you my save game with 1000 bags of flour going unused and scattered around my dungeon creating incredible job lag, then maybe you will reconsider this?

Another option could be to use coal instead of wood for fuel. I always can find lots of coal, and it burns. I would imagine this is like dungeon barbeque.
14-02-2014 04:06 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Seriously Unserious Offline
The Ninja Dinosaur

Posts: 1.607
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 69
Post: #12
RE: Can't Get Wood
sounds like being able to stop production of flour and antroots would also be useful.
[Image: 11619898803_7d3a89e6bd_n.jpg]
The Golden One!
14-02-2014 10:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rasmus Offline
Main developer of Dwelvers
Dwelvers Developers

Posts: 3.619
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 502
Post: #13
RE: Can't Get Wood
As it is right now, I don't want to stop the bakery from producing bread for example just in case the player don't want to store up on bread, this has to be the players decision.

With the new imp prio system it makes things a little bit more complicated to be honest. Some things easier, but some things more complicated.
Right now I have managed it so that the player can link and unlink rooms together, this means that the player can actually have two storage rooms linked together at one place and two others at another place, not having any connection between them. This means that he can have two separate economies running in the dungeon at the same time. This makes it far better for the player when it comes to expanding his territory as he now can like in many other games have different "headquarters" spread out.

Well, the point here is that as the dungeon can have two different economies running at once, I can't let the player just turn of the bread production in general as it may affect one economy in a good way but the other economy in a bad way. The solution for this is simply giving the player control to turn of production in certain buildings and rooms directly, not via the items menu as it is now.
15-02-2014 03:24 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Seriously Unserious Offline
The Ninja Dinosaur

Posts: 1.607
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 69
Post: #14
RE: Can't Get Wood
IMO both options would be good, if the player needs to turn all production of a resource, say bread off, then it should be possible with the click of a single button, not having to track down every room that produces bread and shut it off one by one, and later on have to turn them all back on one by one. Yet if one only needs to slow production, or halt it in one area, then being able to do it by room is also helpful. My advice is to add new means of controlling production without taking the existing methods away from us.
[Image: 11619898803_7d3a89e6bd_n.jpg]
The Golden One!
15-02-2014 07:00 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rasmus Offline
Main developer of Dwelvers
Dwelvers Developers

Posts: 3.619
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 502
Post: #15
RE: Can't Get Wood
Yeah, I agree. There is no reason for me to do that. The player will probably understand when it is good to use it and when it isn't Smile
Just because there are situations when it can cause trouble doesn't mean that I should take away the good situations as well.
15-02-2014 07:09 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)


© 2013-2017 Dwelvers | Contact